Texas Deregulation Map: Overview

There are six Transmission and Delivery Utility (TDU) companies servicing the areas of Texas that have retail electric choice (the deregulated markets).

In the map below, you'll see the six TDUs and their coverage areas.

The markets in white do not participate in retail electric choice. We'll discuss why some areas are exempt from deregulation in a later section of this article.

Texas Deregulated Electricity Areas

Wichita Falls

Graham

Coleman

Fredericksburg

Laredo _____

TRANSMISSION AND DELIVERY UTILITY COMPANIES

Oncor AEP North Centerpoint

TNMP AEP Central Sharyland*

Dallas

Corsicana

Bay City

Ft. Worth

Waco

Victoria C

Killeen

Corpus

Falturrias

*Sharyland Utilities markets include
Brady, Celeste, Colorado City, parts of McAllen,
Sharyland Pantation, and Stanton

Brownfield

Odessa •

Ft. Stockton

Pecos

Van Horn

Big Spring

Stanton



Childress C

Snyder

Colorado

San

Sonora

Del Rio

Uvalde

Carrizo

Springs

Angelo

Aspermoni

Texas Regulated Map: Overview

This map highlights the areas of
Texas that do not participate in retail
electric choice. We'll dive into why
some areas are exempt from
deregulation in a bit.

As you can see, the regulated areas of Texas account for only about 25% of the land area of Texas. The remaining 75% of the state is deregulated.

• El Paso

Horizon City

Texas Regulated Electricity Areas



